Awarding Our Best

Awarding Our Best

News details

Tom Sharpe

Last Edit

Sport at the University of Adelaide would not be what it is today without the help of our clubs and the people behind our clubs. Besides rewarding individual club members with Blues, Half Blues and Club Letters, AU Sport also presents a number of other awards at our End of Year Blues function.

We received a number of nominations for Volunteer of the Year, Coach of the Year, Patron’s Club and Club of the Year. On behalf of the AU Sport Board, we would like to congratulate those selected as finalists for the following awards:

Volunteer of the Year

(Student and non-student awards)

The ‘Volunteer of the Year’ award recognises a volunteer, who has made a significant contribution during the year of the award, rather than over a period of time, to the betterment of the club or AU Sport.


Volunteer of Year (student)
- Chantellle Bardadyn (Soccer),
- Courtney Donnellan (Volleyball)
- Caitlin Wringe (Gymnastics/Cheer)

Volunteer of Year (non-student)
- Helen Doufos (Soccer)

Coach of the Year

This award recognises a coach who has made a significant contribution during the year of the award, rather than over a period of time. There are two awards presented in this category – elite and development


Coach of Year (development)
- Angus Dickson (Cycling)
- Manny Martinez (Hockey)

Coach of Year (elite)
- Ruby Beard (Gymnastics/Cheer)
- Michael Headland (Judo)
- Seth Piszczuk (Wing Chun)

Intervarsity Certificates of Merit

This award is to recognise the contribution and performance of University of Adelaide students, who represent the University of Adelaide in intervarsity competitions but are not a member of one of the affiliated AU Sport clubs.

  • Robert Cain (Nationals Hockey)
  • Liam Duhne (IV Football)
  • Emily Johnson (IV Netball and Nationals Beach Volleyball)

Patron's Cup

The Patron’s Cup is awarded annually to a club for an outstanding achievement (on field) by their teams and their members. There was a total of 10 clubs nominated and the finalists are:

  • Badminton (first time finalist)
  • Fencing (first time finalist)
  • Soccer

Club of the Year

Since introducing this award, we have seen great improvements in how many of the AU sport Clubs are managed and this award recognises our best clubs with strong off field management. The winner of this award will receive a $1000 grant for a development project approved by the Board.


Club of Year (Jessop Shield for 50 or less members)
- Kendo (first time finalist)
- Swimming (2017 Club of the Year)
- Wing Chun (2014 Club of the Year)

Club of Year (Bennett Shield for more than 50 members)
- Basketball (2017 Club of the Year)
- Cricket (first time finalist)
- Netball (first time finalist)

Congratulations again to all who have been listed as a finalist. Winners will be announced at the Blues Awards on Wednesday, 21 November at the National Wine Centre.

Get your tickets here.

Will your club win? Be there to celebrate!

Photo: AU Basketball Club, 2017 Club of Year, Bennett Shield winner