110th Annual Blues Awards

News details

Michelle Wilson

Last Edit

The 110th annual Blues Awards has come to an end, and we look back on a great night where some of our brightest athletes and clubs were celebrated in front of the biggest Blues audience ever.

With just over 240 in attendance, the crowd were entertained by fantastic acts, including the second edition of 'The Year in Song' performed by AU Football Club and UofA student, Toby Maughan.

Michelle Wilson, the incoming General Manager, was introduced to the crowd in the opening stanza, and the Vice-Chancellor was warmly welcomed to his first Blues.

The night closed with the last official address from retiring General Manager, Mike Daws, in his usual humorous way.

With over 80 awards awarded for the night, it was a great way to showcase what each club has to offer.

See the list of winners below:

Service to AU Sport - Alex Reade (Soccer)

Blue Award - Brian Wilson (Athletics), Alex Fry, Brodie Hand, Tahlia Jones, Cameron Natt, Phoebe Pado, Jack Tomich (Boat), Sophie Edwards, Griffin Knight, Maeve Plouffe (Cycling), Ben Adams, Nicole Collie, Ebony O'Dea, Georgia Taylor (Football), Derrick Ng (Kendo) and Scarlett Groom-Ransom (Wing Chun)

Half Blue Award - David Frigaard, Lachlan Kirchner, James Nicholas, Peta Terrell (Boat), Joanna Easson (Cycling), Thomas Ralph (Rugby), James Yip (Swimming), Darren Cai and Sean Ni (Wing Chun)

Certificate of Merit (IV) - Robert Cain (Hockey), Liam Duhne (Football) and Emily Johnson (Netball/Beach Volleyball)

Volunteer of the Year - Courtney Donnellan - Student (Volleyball) & Helen Doufos - Non-Student (Soccer)

Coach of the Year - Angus Dickson - Development (Cycling) & Seth Piszczuk - Elite (Wing Chun)

Patron's Cup - AU Badminton Club

Jessop Shield - AU Wing Chun Club

Bennett Shield - AU Netball Club