Our 2019 Blues Award Finalists

News details

Jahan Emery

Last Edit

Sport at the University of Adelaide would not be what it is today without the help of our clubs and the people behind them. Besides rewarding individual club members with Blues, Half Blues and Club Letters, Adelaide University Sport also presents a number of other awards at our End of Year Blues function.

We received a number of nominations for Volunteer of the Year, Coach of the Year, Patron’s Club and Club of the Year. On behalf of the Adelaide University Sport Board, we would like to congratulate those selected as finalists for the following awards:

Volunteer of the Year

(Student and non-student awards)

The ‘Volunteer of the Year’ award recognises a volunteer, who has made a significant contribution during the year of the award, rather than over a period of time, to the betterment of the club or Adelaide University Sport.


Volunteer of Year (student)
- Amy Brooks-Birve (Uni Nationals)
- Payas Bidwai (Adelaide University Cricket Club)
- Nicholas Maegraith (University of Adelaide Roma's)

Volunteer of Year (non-student)
- Craig Evans (Adelaide University Football Club)
- Peter Stephen (Adelaide University Rugby Club)
- Warren Pengilly (Adelaide University Baseball Club)

Coach of the Year

This award recognises a coach who has made a significant contribution during the year of the award, rather than over a period of time. There are two awards presented in this category – elite and development.


Coach of Year (development)
- Alex MacDonald (Adelaide University Soccer Club)
- Jimme Vo (Adelaide University Kendo Club)
- Mark Bosio (Adelaide University Soccer Club)

Coach of Year (elite)
- Guy Woonton (Adelaide University Rugby Club)
- Mark Moody (Adelaide University Football Club)
- Matthew Wensley (Adelaide University Basketball Club)

Intervarsity Certificates of Merit

This award is to recognise the contribution and performance of University of Adelaide students, who represent the University of Adelaide in intervarsity competitions but are not a member of one of the affiliated AU Sport clubs.

Brandon Brine (Nationals Div 1 – Basketball)
James Adcock (Nationals Div 1 and 2 – Basketball)
Nicholas Fassos (Nationals Div 1and 2 – Basketball)

Patron's Cup

The Patron’s Cup is awarded annually to a club for an outstanding achievement (on field) by their teams and their members. There was a total of 10 clubs nominated and the finalists are:
- Adelaide University Cricket Club
- Adelaide University Cycling Club
- Adelaide University Football Club
- Adelaide University Soccer Club

Club of the Year

Since introducing this award, we have seen great improvements in how many of the AU sport Clubs are managed and this award recognises our best clubs with strong off field management. The winner of this award will receive a $1000 grant for a development project approved by the Board.


Club of Year (Jessop Shield for 50 or less members)
- Adelaide University Athletics Club
- Adelaide University Cycling Club
- Adelaide University Squash Club

Club of Year (Bennett Shield for more than 50 members)
- Adelaide University Cricket Club
- Adelaide University Rugby Club
- Adelaide University Touch Club

Congratulations again to all who have been listed as a finalist. Winners will be announced at the Blues Awards on Wednesday, 4 December at the National Wine Centre.

Get your tickets HERE.

Will your club win? Be there to celebrate!

Photo: Adelaide University Badminton Club, 2018 Patron's Cup winner