2018 Scholarship Recipients

News details

Sara Lane

Last Edit

Adelaide University Sport has announced the 10 scholarship recipients for 2018.

The Adelaide University sport scholarships have been awarded to Maeve Plouffe (Cycling) and David Frigaard (Boat/Rowing). The two have shown great sporting prowess and contributions to sporting club development. The scholarship is to benefit two students per year who are undertaking an Undergraduate or Honours program of study at the University of Adelaide.

The Charlie Jessop sport scholarship was awarded to Eddie Dadds (Football) for 2018. Jessop was an AU Sport life member who made significant contributions to the University of Adelaide, AU Sport & the Law faculty. The scholarship is awarded to a UofA Law student, who not only excels in their chosen sport, but also gives valuable service to their AU Sport club. Eddie has made a significant impact at Adelaide University Sport in the last 12 months. Eddie has been a member of the Adelaide University Football Club Div 1 team for a few years, and has recently taken the reins of the inter-varsity organisation among other portfolios.

The Don Stranks sport scholarship was awarded to Nick Winter (Cricket) for 2018. Dedicated to the late Professor Don Stranks, former Vice-Chancellor & Vice-President of the University and keen supporter of the Football and Cricket clubs, Nick burst onto the national scene in 2017/18 with his debut for the SA Redbacks, where he became the second leading wicket taker after only playing in the second half of the season.

The Bill Scammell sport scholarship was awarded to Montana Nelligan (Volleyball) for 2018. Named after a former Chancellor of the University of Adelaide and supporter of AU Sport, this scholarship is awarded to a UofA student who has contributed overall to his or her sporting club, both competitively and through support of the club. Montana became President of the Adelaide University Volleyball Club after being a member for many years. Montana has also been re-appointed to the Student Committee for the Nationals Div 1 & Div 2 campaign.

The Bob Heddle sport scholarships have been awarded to Sophie Edwards (Cycling) and Kate Holland-Smith (Hockey) for 2018. Director of the University Health Service from 1964-1982, Bob was a member of the University Council and the University Council representative on the AU Sport Board of Management. Sophie is a member of the Adelaide Uni Cycling Club and rides for the South Australian Sports Institute. Sophie will also compete at the UCI Junior World Track Cycling Championship to be held in August 2018. Kate was selected in the SA Hotshots women's hockey team in late 2017 and was awarded an Adelaide University Blue.

The President's sport scholarships have been awarded to Angus Haines (Athletics/Orienteering), Grace Mitchell (Hockey) & Thomas Edwards (Cricket) for 2018. Awarded to University of Adelaide students in their first year of study as a financial incentive to join an AU Sport club, the President's sport scholarship holder must make himself/herself available for AU Sport club matches, including during University holidays, unless special permission is granted by the club and AU Sport. Angus is a current committee member of the Adelaide University Athletics Club as well as a member of the Elite Athlete program and an Elite Orienteer. Angus was recently selected to represent Australia at the Junior World Orienteering Championships (JWOC) in Hungary as well as represent Australian Universities at the World University Orienteering Championships (WUOC) in Finland. Grace has been part of the Northern Suburbs Hockey Club in Brisbane for the last 12 years. Last year, she played in both the Division 1 and 2 women's teams and the Division 1 Junior team. In 2018, Grace moved to South Australia and has competed for the Adelaide University Hockey Club's Premier League team as well being fast-tracked to represent South Australia at State Level. Thomas has been playing as an A and B grade cricket player in the 2017/18 season, as well as taking part in the inter-varsity cricket tournament in Brisbane.